Contact information

Suit 5600, 100 King Street West, Toronto, ON M5X1C9

(+41) 22 761 11 11 (+41) 22 798 01 00

Bangladesh, Japan, Indonesia, Malaysia, and first-time participants Algeria and Kenya in the latest cycle

Singapore, 15 April 2021: As the deadline for registration in the 3rd cycle of the Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum Global Water Award draws closer, the UAE Water Aid Foundation ‘Suqia’ announced that several countries are taking part in the Award for the first time. Algeria and Kenya will join the UAE, Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, Oman, Kuwait, Egypt, Bangladesh, Japan, Indonesia, Malaysia, UK, India, Germany, Greece, France, Switzerland, Italy, Spain, Belgium, and the Netherlands.

HE Saeed Mohammed Al Tayer, Chairman of the Board of Trustees at Suqia UAE, was pleased to witness the growing global participation in the Award, launched by HH Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai. Totaling USD 1 million in prizes, the global water award aims at providing drinking water to the underprivileged and disaster-stricken communities worldwide, regardless of their religion, ethnicity, culture, or nationality. Al Tayer pointed out that expanding the Award’s scope to include new technologies that produce, distribute, store, monitor, desalinate, and purify water using renewable energy as well as adding the Innovative Crisis Solutions category, have encouraged more organizations and individuals to participate and contribute to finding sustainable and innovative solutions to address water scarcity.

The total value of the Innovative Projects Award is USD 540,000 (USD 240,000 for small projects awards and USD 300,000 for large project awards),  while the total value of the Innovative R&D Award is USD 400,000 (National Institutions Award: USD 200,000 – International Institutions Award: USD 200,000). In addition, the Innovative Individual Award gives away USD 40,000 (Youth Award winner: USD 20,000 – Distinguished Researcher Award: USD 20,000); while the Innovative Crisis Solutions Award winner will be awarded USD 20,000.

Need help?

Want to talk to a innovation expert?

Contact With Us
  • bubble-12
  • bubble-16